Call for Papers

Call for Workshop Papers (CFP)


at SBIA/SBRN/JRI Joint Conference,

October 26-30, 2008, Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Call for Papers deadline EXTENDED to July, 6th!

The workshop seeks contributions in topics within computational models and experiments involving adaptive and cognitive systems. Topics of interest for this special track on cognitive systems include among others:
-       Adaptive behavior modeling and simulation
-       Evolution of complex adaptive behavior
-       Artificial Life, Animats, Robotics and multi-robots models
-       Agent-based models of biological systems and processes
-       Artificial systems as models of biological processes
-       Biosemiotic processes and systems
-       Modeling of meaning and information processing
-       Representation and symbol grounding
-       Emergence, Complexity and Self-organization
-       Epistemological and Methodological issues

It is of special interest of this workshop, computer models and simulations of cognitive processes inspired by biological/empirical motivations and/or formal theoretical principles. Researchers dealing with issues related with representation in artificial systems (e.g. symbol grounding, language, meaning) are particularly encourage to submit contributions to the workshop.

*Important Dates

July 06, 2008 - Submission Deadline Extended
August 05, 2008  - Notification to authors
August 20, 2008 - Camera-ready copies of papers (updated)
October 26-30, 2008  - Joint Conference SBIA/SBRN/JRI 2008
October 26-30, 2008  - ADAPTCOG 2008

*Submission Instructions

You are invited to submit papers to the upcoming Workshop on Modelling Adaptive and Cognitive Systems. Papers must be written in English and may have a length of up to 10 pages, including tables, figures, and
references. Like the main conference, papers must conform to the Springer LNCC/LNAI style.  It  is  recommended  that authors  use Springer-Verlag  template  files  (see, section    "Proceedings   and    Other    Multi-author Volumes"  for  formatting instructions)  to  minimize possible conflicts of paper length when
preparing the camera ready. 

Papers  should  be  formatted  in  PDF  (preferred)  or PostScript, and    submitted    electronically only, through  the  JEMS Conference  Management  System web site at  []. Reviewing for papers will be double blind, i.e. blind to the identities of the authors and their institutions and to the identities of the reviewer. Please, EXCLUDE AUTHORS' NAMES AND INSTITUTIONS from the submitted manuscript, they will be included in camera ready versions only. 

Submission  is  a  three-step  process.  In  a  first  step authors are required to register as new authors with JEMS. After registration as author the login data will be sent to the specified email address. This data can be  used  to  access  the  system.  In  a  second  step authors have to register their paper (click the submit paper  button in  JEMS).  The  third  step  consists  on uploading the paper. Submitted papers will be peer-reviewed by at  least two program committee members and/or additional reviewers/referees.

Accepted   papers   will   be   made   public   in   the website (abstracts only) and published in the Proceedings of  the  Workshops  of  the SBIA-SBRN-JRI  2008, on CD-ROM (full papers). Selected papers will be invited to submit an extended version to be published in a tentative special issue of an international journal to be announced. 

Any  other  questions  regarding  papers  submission may be directed to one of the organizers.

Angelo Loula
angelocl  AT,
Dept. of Exact Sciences, State University of Feira de Santana (UEFS), Feira de Santana, BA, Brasil
Dept. of Computer Eng. and Industrial Automation, FEEC, State University of Campinas (UNICAMP), Campinas, SP, Brasil

João Queiroz
queirozj AT,
Federal University of Bahia (UFBA), Salvador, BA, Brasil
Graduate Studies Program on History, Philosophy and Science Teaching

*Program Committee (UPDATED!)
Fabiana Bertoni (UEFS)
Guilherme Bittencourt (UFSC)
Angelo Cangelosi (University of Plymouth)
Anthony Chemero (Franklin and Marshall College)
Gerd Doeben-Henish (Frankfurt University of Applied Sciences)
Charbel El-Hani (UFBA) 
James Fetzer (University of Minnesota Duluth)
Maria Eunice Gonzalez (UNESP)
Ricardo Gudwin (UNICAMP)
Pim Haselager (University of Nijmegen) 
Bruce MacLennan (University of Tennesee)
Lorenzo Magnani (University of Pavia) 
Mihai Nadin (University of Texas)
Matheus Pires (UEFS) 
Frederik Stjernfelt (University of Aarhus)
Jon Umerez (University of the Basque Country)